Texas License To Carry (LTC) Training

How to Get a Texas License To Carry (LTC)

In order to obtain a Texas State permit to carry a concealed handgun, the State of Texas requires a 4-6 hour concealed handgun license certification course (test, breaks, and shooting proficiency test time is not included in the 4 hour minimum class requirement) which is outlined by the State Department of Public Safety. The class, test, and shooting proficiency test usually lasts about 5.5 to 7 hours total depending on the class size. The applicant must also be eligible according to the Eligibility Standards outlined in the Texas Concealed Handgun Laws and Selected Statutes.

Two-part Process

Part A

This two-part process begins with reading the Texas LTC (License To Carry) and Selected Statutes then the next step is to apply online to the State of Texas through the link.

After you pay the required application fee to The State of Texas, the state website will direct you to schedule your digital fingerprinting appointment (the state recommends you start this process with the online application). Application and fingerprinting can be completed before or after your certification course, however, must be done within 12 months of passing the course.

Part B

Take a LTC (license to carry) Certification Course from a Texas DPS certified instructor. This course involves handgun qualification at a local range and passing a 25 question test (multiple choice and true/false). This course can be taken before or after your application is completed, however, must be completed and submitted to the state within 12 months of paid application, otherwise the application fee will be forfeited and the application process will start over.

Once you complete both parts of the process, complete a background check, and submit all required documents within the specified timeline, then the state will issue the applicable license.

Subjects Covered

  • Concealed carry law
  • Where you can carry and where you cannot
  • When you can use force or deadly force
  • Legal implications of use of force or deadly force
  • Texas weapons laws
  • Nonviolent dispute resolution
  • Firearms safety

If you have any questions about this process, please call 214-630-4866 or check out the Department of Public Safety's website.

Required Equipment

You will be required to have each of the following materials: a handgun, 50 rounds of ammunition, safety glasses and hearing protection for use during range qualification.

It is no longer a requirement to have your application packet before you begin class. If you do not have your application packet, we have them available.

Prerequisites

This course is not a "how to shoot" class. The student is expected to have already achieved a minimum safe level of proficiency with their handgun, including loading, unloading, slide or cylinder manipulation, proper use of safety devices and operational controls. During the proficiency test, students will be expected to obtain safety while handling firearms (this is part of the test). Students who cannot meet the standards will fail the proficiency test, but can retest at a later date.

Prospective students who have little handgun experience are encouraged to schedule with GunCo Arms and attend the First Steps Instruction Course.